Bonsai

Go Green or Go Home

The Milk Problem January 22, 2013

Filed under: Animals,Health,Lifestyle — Maryse @ 1:58 pm

There is such thing, in my opinion as the Milk Problem. It is about dairy, the yoghurt and the milk we (not me) drink.

Young male calves are taken away from their mamma’s at such an early age because they are male and can’t make  milk. It also keeps the female  lactating.  When you drink milk, it is made by a mum who’s male calf is taken away and killed.

This is the milk problem. Some people like milk, some don’t. It is difficult to wean of milk, yet it is better. In the book ”The China Study” written by Campbell, it says that milk is bad for your health.  If you are trying to stop milk, good for you!

I hope you take heed!

Ruby (Administrator of Bonsai)

 

7 Responses to “The Milk Problem”

  1. Ceej D Says:

    That’s really sad, animals should be kept with their parents. Especially animals in captive, because they tend to have greater reliance on their family. Milk isn’t actually bad for you. I drink almond milk which has more calcium than regular milk, and I need calcium because I have the beginnings of osteoporosis, which means that my bones are really weak and if I fall, they might shatter. A lot of people say that they have to have milk. But there’s always, soy, rice, and almond milk. It tastes just as good. I do love cheese though. 🙂

    • palletcolors Says:

      Almond, soy, and rice milk is fine! 🙂 (I hate cheese, it stinks) but bravo for sharing your opinion nicely!

  2. JM Says:

    That’s really sad, animals shouldn’t be seperated from their young. I do, however, think that some people need milk, for the calcium.
    I can’t have any of the other alternatives, so maybe I’m a little biased. 😛 (I’m allergic)
    The males are most likely killed for their meat, so at least it’s not like they kill them for no reason.
    If they didnt seperate the young from the mothers, I would be all for it.

  3. kaiawillis Says:

    I drink cows milk that comes from good farms, where the babies aren’t taken from their mothers. Only some farms are like this (most likely factory farms), and we make sure that our milk comes from good sources. We used to buy local raw milk (which means it wasn’t pasteurized), but that got too expensive. I think that milk is okay when you get if from a good farm that doesn’t take the babies away from their mothers.
    Also, the male cows are probably taken away for slaughtering to eat at a certain age.
    -Kaia


Leave a Reply

